Free Writing

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

I have to say, it’s pretty easy for me to write, because I write like I talk…and I talk a lot. Now I didn’t say that I have that much to say that’s worthy to some people, but never-the-less, I do like to talk and when there isn’t anyone around to talk to, I write. Actually, I talk to myself as well, but what fun is knowing the answer when you’re the one that asked the question in the first place. Yeah, think about that for a moment. But it’s the only way I work out things in my head. I ask questions and work through the answers aloud until I’m where I want to be.
Now, having confessed that, you can imagine I might very well have lots of stories that I’m still working with the plot lines. But not being that concerned with publishing them right away, I just have fun working with the ideas, the characters, etc.
I like to write fiction because I want to see what happens to the characters. Actually my characters have a more interesting life than I do, I think that’s normal. However, they don’t get to see the endings like I do, you know, before it happens. That’s a writer’s perk, I think.

Leave a Reply

